The wee one

Another changeable day - every time I go outside to do something useful, like laying the sleepers for the glasshouse base, it rains, so I come in, when the sun comes out!  Consequently I haven't been further than the garden for the second day running. 
 
Today's Blip is another primula - this time it's Primula scotica, one of the tiniest. The whole plant is just 6cms high and the individual flowers are 10-mm wide. The so-called Scottish primrose is found in Orkney and on the northern coast of the Scottish mainland and nowhere else in the world! It enjoys close-cropped grassland and happily lives on windswept cliff tops. Not the easiest of plants to keep in the garden - mine's in a pot at the moment, but I shall probably find a trough where I can grow it together with plants which need similar conditions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.