An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

When life gives you lemons...

Make gin and tonic!  ;-))

Well, this time yesterday I wasn't sure what I would blip today but I certainly didn't think it would be a plate of lemons!

I was just finishing my online Tesco order last night when I received a text from my good friend and artist Fiona in New Zealand, asking me if I could photograph some lemons for her.  The spooky thing was I had just ticked lemons on my Tesco order.

Bit of a strange request I thought, but she explained she has been commissioned to do a painting to be hung in Italy, and the main subject of the painting will be holding a plate of lemons.  She recently saw a photo of a bowl of apples that I'd uploaded to Instagram and wanted me to produce something similar, but with lemons for her to paint into her commission.

So I did, and it gave me my blip too!  The lemons are now in the fridge waiting to be lifted out to go on holiday in the morning :-))

Holiday packing is going well.

Andrew arrived mid afternoon and has been helping David get the roof boxes on the cars.  His mum says his case has been packed since Monday! :-))  Food shopping arrived on time and has been separated into Alan's Lodge and our lodge, rather than waste time faffing when we get there.  My art supplies are packed.  Camera bag is ready and I'm just about to pack clothes (Ashleigh has done all Alan's packing!  Yay :-) then it will be time for dinner  - takeaway tonight for speed and ease.

Have I mentioned that we've hired a car to take on holiday?  Not in place of, but in addition to Alan's car and our car! 

We're only going away for 5 days but with Alan, you need the same amount of stuff whether it's 5 nights away or 15!   We have to take his shower chair, which of course doesn't collapse so takes up lots of space!  Also his manual wheelchair (he'll be sitting in his power chair to travel) as his power chair is too heavy for some of the activities at Kielder (and of course it doesn't collapse either) as well as hoist slings and enough bottles of his special milk to last the duration (and people ask us why we don't fly abroad with Alan on holiday!) 

But it's all in hand, and all being well we will be heading off at the crack of  1.30pm tomorrow believe it when I see it!   :-))

P.S. No telephone signal where we're going and can't remember if there's wifi so may have to back blip.

Just had word from down under...I have fulfilled my brief :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.