Fund Raiser...

This isn't what I planned on blipping today, but once I drove past & saw the sign, I had to turn around and go back. On June 18th., a Milwaukee Police Officer was  on his way home from work when a repeat drunken driver ran a red light and slammed into Officer Her's car, killing him. The day before that, a Racine Officer (a city to the North of Milwaukee) was shot and killed by a masked, armed gunman who was attempting to rob a tavern. Both Officers left devastated families behind. My blip is of a small shop about a mile from my home called "Jens' Sweet Treats"; Jen sells cupcakes, sweet rolls, breads, etc., & today she's donating all the money she makes--100 % of it--to the families of the officers that died. Hearing about her plans for the fundraiser,  "Fancypants Cakes" in South Milwaukee sent dozens of cookies over to be sold in Jen's shop, and Bayview's "Sweet Rings" sent over coffee and donuts to be sold as well. Off duty Milwaukee Police Officers and their family members set up this tent and are cooking brats and hamburgers for "to go" lunches that can be purchased, and also put out a huge jar where people could drop money if they wanted to make an additional donation. I'm happy to say that I stood in line inside Jens' shop for a LONG time because there were so many people packed inside of it, which is a great thing! On the way out I bought lunch to take home for Tom & I,  & along with most everyone else, threw some money into the jar, not being surprised that it was almost full to the top with $5's, 10's & $20's. It's such a tragedy to lose people to such senseless violence--a drunk who doesn't care that he's endangering others, and yet another violent criminal with a gun. I feel that it's important to offset violence by acts of kindness, & I saw it today in the multitude of caring strangers from multiple cities who showed up, donated, purchased & pulled together in support. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.