Shock in the morning!

I got up for my early call with the senior guy at the customer and my password for my email and VPN did not work.
I went through 2 conference calls before it was 9 am and I could contact IT.
They said they knew …. and I had to speak to HR, they advised to shut me down!
I was totally upset about that! I still had 4 days to work and so much to do!! AlsoJack was coming on Sunday to do the 3 days of handover next week! 
I phoned our HR boss and found out that apparently plans were changed and that Jack and Cline advised them to cut me off!! SERIOUSLY?
She also told me that Jack was not coming for the hand over!!
I was getting even more upset, I was still in full work mode and not at all ready to leave everything behind unfinished. Thats not the way I operate!
She told me that this was not my problem anymore and that I should not be worried.
Well …… I felt totally deceived by Jack, with whom I was still speaking last night when they must have had plotted that already! 
And obviously even more deceived by BB as we had discussed something else yesterday evening.

I texted Neil and he told me to phone him. We never talk on the phone, only in emergencies, and this was Number 3 in 7 years! It was good to talk, although I am so unused to hear his phone voice, that I struggled to recognise his voice at times and wondered who I was speaking to!
I also talked to Judit, who was not impressed as well!

Jack texted before 12 pm as he is in a different time zone in US this days.
He phoned a few minutes later, but I declined! No way I could talk to him in my state. I texted back that I was pissed off and would not want to talk.
He texted again saying he wanted to discuss the new situation and the remote hand over he wanted to do.
I texted back that, since I was set on garden leave with no access to my computer, no handover could be done!

A while later he texted again that he would send the announcement out in 30 min so that I could do some calls before. At least that part of the agreement was kept!
So I phone Dick to let him know I was leaving and that I would go back into photography. I was surprised and a bit upset, but said that he was happy for me, but that I would be truly missed.
He asked when my last day was, and I told him apparently yesterday, because my emails were cut off! He was surprised and asked, why they would do that - which I could not answer. I hid it behind some weird company policies ….
I told him that Jack would be sending the official announcement out in a few minutes and he promised me to forward it to my private email address. How nice is that???
I called Andy too and tried Callam.
Andy said he was shellshocked, but happy for me to follow my dreams.
Callam phoned me back only much later, but since he knew more than most he was not too surprised that I had finally resigned.
Dick did forward the message immediately and it was not very eloquently written, quite short, but saying very nice things about me. At least that they got right!
Still he announced that my last working day would be Monday... !?!?!? I was cut off since Thursday night! So everyone would email me and I would not get the emails, could not reply and seem to be ignoring them!

I then started to phone a few internal colleagues to tell them that I had resigned, including Big Volker. The internal announcement would be going out later the day,

I met Doris for Coffee and some food at William at 3:30 pm.
But I was still under shock how my bosses had turned things and probably not the best person to have a relaxed afternoon with.

Judit was also in touch continuously keeping me updated what was happening internally, which was not much ……

I went home after 6 pm still in a strange bubble.
Jack kept texting and phoning, but I did not pick-up. Too pissed off still.

I phoned Kevin and he could not believe what he was hearing! He thinks it was all down to BB as Jack would not have the guts to do that. He is just the soldier following the orders.

He said he would drop an email to Jack with my name in the subject and say that there were rumours that Kerstin was leaving. He expected Jack to phone him right away.
Well - it was 5 minutes. So he took the call and said he will call back later.

I then informed Mirka, as I was keeping it from her, as she has too much contact with the customer, thus it could have leaked through to early by accident.
We were still on the phone when Neil came home at 7 pm.

Neil came home early for me, which is nice!!
We went out for a coffee at the new cafe Kothel and the headed to Inn Deep for stronger stuff.
After 2 beer for Neil and 2 Gin and Tonic for me we decided to finish off with a pizza at Paesano.

The Pizza was awesome and so was the service. They are incredibly organised at that place and all staff seems really happy. 
We walked home after that and crashed on the couch. I think I feel asleep soon after.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.