Faith

At last we have some summer weather and it is very pleasant, neither too hot nor too cold but just right. I feel a bit like Goldilocks.
I could sit on the patio this morning in short sleeves, basking in the sunshine to read my book- an autobiography by Richard Holloway, the one time Bishop of Edinburgh, recently turned rather sceptical about organised religion.

It made for a fitting introduction to an afternoon spent at a funeral service for my next door neighbour at the church of St Andrew and St George in George Street. How sad it is that one only gets to know so much about a person after they’ve died. What a pity that their life story is not readily available while they are living.

With it being the hottest day of the year so far, it was difficult to know what to wear so as not to look flippant and summery but manage to project a certain amount of gravitas. I’m not sure I really managed that......

Hymns were sung and prayers were said for Ronald to send him onward from his earthly life, and I thought how comforting it must be to have faith and be a believer in something after death. It must make the grieving process a whole lot easier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.