All the Squirrels Were Kung Fu Fighting

Everybody was kung fu fighting . . .
Those squirrels were fast as lightning!
In fact, it was a little bit frightening
But they fought with expert timing

It's the nearing end of June, which is to say that it is open season on retirement parties at Penn State. Several good friends are retiring soon. I went to one retirement party last week, and on this afternoon, I had another one to attend at Old Main.

I always welcome the opportunity to go onto campus and stuff my face with cake in someone else's honor. In summertime, campus is practically deserted. Nothing but green leafy corridors and squirrels. And Old Main - with its restored Land-Grant frescoes - is one of my favorite buildings to photograph, especially the interiors.

I was on my way into the building when I noticed a pair of squirrels cavorting on the big old elm tree that stands to the left of Old Main. They seemed very playful and I took a whole bunch of (mostly blurry) shots of the two of them scampering, rolling around, wrestling, and playing tag.

When I uploaded the pics and took a good look at them later, I learned that it was much MORE than just a game of tag. AHEM! Let's just say that there will never be a shortage of baby squirrels on campus. Oy vey, what an innocent I am: probably everybody else but me had guessed exactly what was going on.

So I will spare you the more explicit photos (you're welcome). But here's a pretty decent photo of the height of the action. The squirrel on the left is standing on its back paws, while the squirrel on the right flies to it with all four paws off the ground. Every squirrel was kung fu fighting!

The song, of course, is this one: Carl Douglas, with Kung Fu Fighting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.