Silly Saturday, for My Friend Admirer

When I heard the sad news about my Blip-friend Admirer's passing, and learned that there would be a Silly Saturday in her honor, I knew we just had to participate. So this posting is for Admirer, who has gone on to the Next Place. Go well, my friend; we will miss you so.

Admirer and I had been friends for years. I can't remember when I first met her on Blip, but I do recall one of her first comments. I often Blip little tableaus featuring my good-hearted, tiny friends the Crittergators. And I had posted a photo of a funeral we held for an oriole in our yard.

She enjoyed my little tableau, and commented that I must send the photo to her daughter Mischa, who had hosted some very similar funerals herself. And so it was that a friendship was born. We had things in common. I enjoyed her photos so much. And she liked my little Crittergator stories.

So my creatures and I decided we must participate in the Silly Saturday memorial in Admirer's honor. My husband came at me with a green pepper and I decided that it MUST be featured in this Blip. The Tiger, well, he put on his mask and joined us. And the Crittergators too.

And you might remember that raccoon atop T. Tiger's head. It's the same one I featured in the story about the raccoon that climbed a skysraper, back in 2018. Why did it climb my Tiger? Because he was THERE, that's why!  :-)

So we salute Admirer with this silly Blip. And as is my custom, I include a song. For a Silly Saturday posting, it must be a silly song. And so here is one that is awesome in so many ways: The Heimatdamisch, with a cover of the Guns N' Roses classic Sweet Child O' Mine.

But I'm also including something more. Here is the (slightly adapted) final paragraph of the Blip I mentioned above, and the song I included for the oriole funeral, that I think works well as a farewell to my friend.

We wish Admirer a quick and blessed journey to the Next Place . . . a place full of lovely flowers, gentle breezes, sweet bowers dappled in both sun and shade, gorgeous golden sunrises, silvery moonsets, and song - oh, the sweetest of melodies!

There'll be no sad farewells.
There'll be no tear-lit eyes,
Where all is peace
And the soul never dies.*


*The words are from a traditional gospel song, Where the Soul Never Dies. Here is a link to listen to Tracy Chapman and Natalie Merchant sing this song.

Go well, Admirer. We shall meet again, but not yet. . . .
With sincere condolences to family and friends and all who loved her.
<3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.