Crittergators: Solstice Festivities at Stonehenge

It was my husband's birthday week, and as it turns out, he was well celebrated. He asked for one last birthday treat: could I possibly make some of Grandma Colyer's peanut butter fudge?

And so it was that Saturday afternoon found me making fudge. I have written all about making fudge before. In fact, it was quite an episode, that first time. But then, not quite so scary the second time.

I got out my new Pyrex 9 by 13 pan and put it straight to work. And it turned out to be an excellent "first project" for the new pan. Within an hour, I'd made a great big sticky mess and the fudge was cooling off in the pan.

The fudge, as it turns out, is an excellent material for doing silly construction projects with. And I had at least one or two extra-silly things in mind. Sitting on the counter top, believe it or not, were the leftover crackers from my last round of lobster bisque with friends at the Nittany Lion Inn.

I had been planning to make a Frank Lloyd Wright Fallingwater sort of art installation with the crackers. And the fudge was a very good material to help do that. You may see my Fallingwater replica (sans water, of course) in the extras.

So I made Fallingwater, and I had a good giggle about it. And then I got on Facebook, and everyone was clamoring about the solstice. And so I realized I had missed my chance at the big money: a solstice Stonehenge photo shoot!

I had to slice up one more piece of fudge to make Stonehenge, much to my husband's protestations. "Hey, what are you doing with that FUDGE!?" he said in a very proprietary sort of tone. But despite the lack of artistic encouragement, it turned out rather well, I think!

The soundtrack song is for the longest day of the year. I think what we like best about this day is that it seems as though there is FINALLY enough time. So here is Billy Joel, with The Longest Time.

A few notes about the art works . . .

Above: Stonehenge, with Crittergators. Solstice 2020.
Edible construction: featuring Grandma Colyer's peanut butter fudge.

In the extras: After Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater, but without the water.
Mixed media: bisque-crackers and Grandma Colyer's fudge.
As with all works of art, this is a framework built upon a structure dressed in memory and desire.* Memory = my Grandma Colyer's peanut butter fudge. Desire = these are the leftover crackers from my last lobster bisque date with my friends. I miss my friends, I miss that bisque, and I want all of it - everything that's been taken from us - I want it back!!!!

*Added later: I think I should add imagination to this list: memory + desire + imagination = art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.