WATER LILIES ON THE LAKE

I must apologise for not commenting at all yesterday but I really felt “under the weather” and despite sleeping for three hours in the afternoon, had an early night.  However, I am most grateful to you all for your kind words for yesterday’s Blip.

Today I feel much better and later will take my last antibiotic tablet - I have been out this afternoon to buy some probiotic tablets and hope that when I have taken a few of these, I will be feeling even better.  A doctor friend suggested that whilst antibiotics do a good job of “killing the bad bacteria”, they also kill off some of the good ones too, so these need to be replaced.  Not sure why my own GP didn’t tell me this, but at least I know now and I’m ready!

Mr. HCB suggested we went out to the Walled Garden Nursery at Brinkworth to choose some extra plants for our newly planted long border, so off we went. Fraser, the owner, was very helpful so we ended up buying lots of plants, which were much more unusual than the run-of-the-mill stuff that's in most garden centres these days.  There may not be a café or books or other general paraphernalia, but at least you're served by someone who knows his stuff (or her stuff, if Fraser's Mum, Anne, is there!) 

While we were there, a lady looked at me and said, “I’m sure I know you!”  Mr. HCB raised his eyes heavenward, as he normally does when someone says that, but we discovered that we had met a few years ago at the school where I was a volunteer and Lois remembered that I enjoyed photography.  We chatted for a while and then I gave her one of my cards, so hopefully she will be in touch, so that we can go out for a coffee sometime - who knows, I may even be able to persuade her to join Blip!

Leaving Mr. HCB to put the plants into the car, which was no mean feat, I wandered off towards the small lake just outside the Walled Garden Nursery, and in front of Brinkworth House.  I think it needs a another couple of weeks before the water lilies are fully open, but I thought this shot was so peaceful and calm on a beautiful summer’s day, that I decided to use it for my Blip today.  Mono just does not suit this, so I have foregone the MM challenge today.

We had a lovely morning together in the sunshine and bought some beautiful plants into the bargain - more work to do in the garden, but that will have to wait a couple of days as Mr. HCB is back down to Bristol tomorrow for a day’s cricket.

The sight of the water lilies reminded me of Monet, the famous French painter - I think we may need to go over to the Nursery again soon to see if the water lilies have opened.

“‘Water Lilies' is an extension of my life. 
     Without the water the lilies cannot live, 
          as I am without art.” 
Claude Monet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.