Tale of the unexpected...

I was over at Millhouse this morning, which is between Tighnabruaich and Portavadie.   It is one of the places you can easily access the Loch Lomond and Cowal Way and Rosenna Cunningham, who was on a ministerial visit to Argyll, had agreed to walk a bit of the route.   As she was staying with us last night we took her over and Cathleen walked with her  but my current problems with my  leg prevented me from doing so as well. 

I opted to drive to the other end of this section, which is by the tank slip, as it is called , in Kames to pick them up  and as  I had a bit of time to kill  I visited the little grave yard at the old gunpowder works in Millhouse which I had long wanted to see.

It is a lovely spot but wandering about I was struck by this very simple stone which, when I googled the name, produced a very surprising result.     

Elizabeth Young was, as her obituary in the Guardian puts it :

"seriously literary and distinctly Gothic.  It is often said that people have a love affair with books; with Young, it seemed literally true. After a difficult period in the early 1980s, she emerged as one of the most brilliant literary critics of her generation."

Her wikipedia entry is fascinating too  and certainly the story stands out amongst the rows of local folk buried here.    

Definitely a tale of the unexpected for this quiet part of Cowal. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.