A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Dog rose

A nice sunny afternoon, now but it was a bit cloudy this morning. Still we had a good 4.5 mile walk around Cullingworth, 5 ladies, one dog and again joined by M, rose54’s husband.

The main feature of the walk was the smell of new mown grass, a very evocative smell of hay from my childhood in this very village. Hay making was the highlight of our summer both on the farm where I grew up and on the neighbouring farm where my best friend lived.  We spent time jumping over the bales, on one occasion I got straw down my thumbnail doing so and it had to be removed but most memories are good. The highlight was being driven back to the farm on top of the hay cart (eek - health and safety!) and drinking ginger beer out of stone bottles. So glad that was a part of my childhood.

I took lots of pictures of the newly mown grass as well as the long grasses around the edges of the fields but I have finished up with a dog rose for flower Friday. I particularly liked this wild rose alongside the path which has pushed it’s way through the rusty barbed wire fence.
A sensory filled walk, I hope the weekend stays fine for the hay to be brought in. Not sure if they bale hay anymore or just make haylage (is that different to what we used to call silage which was the undried grass that became very smelly!)
Liked a group of old trees stumps with the field of cut grass behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.