Dad and Mum, looking good!

After a long day at work (I arrived at 7.40am - the earliest I’ve been this week) and managed to focus, so that I got through all the essential jobs by lunchtime. Half an hour eating my sandwich and reading an old weight watchers magazine, and then just 2 more hours. With permission from my lovely team leader (I don’t think he reads this!) I left just before 4 in order to catch the 4.04 bus. I was keen to get home as early as possible as mum and dad had planned a brief weekend visit. As we are heading off on holiday early in the morning, I just had this evening to catch up with them.

Dad was still quite weak when I last saw him a couple of weeks ago. But I am really pleased to see how much progress he has made. He has driven the 100 miles up here, and is still looking and feeling quite well. He’s eating well, and his gout is a lot better. It was really reassuring to see. I hope he continues to get stronger! We had a chat, and then I had to get on with packing. That done, we had pizza for tea then Jon and I went to Morrison’s for some snacks for the journey.

I’ve done a quick cycle up to the allotment, where I filled Minnie’s food to the top and her water and several other water bowls. She should be fine for the week. She is still sitting on an empty nest and will sit for weeks, so probably won’t eat or drink much anyway! I picked a big bowl of strawberries, raspberries and a kind of loganberry. I’m not sure exactly what it is as I didn’t plant them, but it is very tasty. We’ve just eaten the lot. Also picked a few mange tout and will take them with us.

It was almost dark when I got back. Hoping I’ve done everything! Trailer is packed and hooked up, so at 6 in the morning we will get up and head north for a week in the Lake District - and hopefully a week of some very pretty blips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.