Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Hat Fair Saturday

Towards the end of the afternoon today, I bumped into a photographer who I'd talked to yesterday.  I was so relieved when he said he's had real trouble getting the shots he'd wanted today because I was beginning to think it might just be me.  Something to do with the intense heat, the crowds (larger than ever, the place was heaving), the endless food stalls cooking - yikes, it needed some perseverance.  In the end, having taken many action shots I'm not pleased with and as yet have no time to process properly, I decided to stick to portraits for today.  I'll try to do better on the other front tomorrow.

So, the main shot - which I loved in mono, but thought you might like to see it like this - is of a member of Tickertape Parade with their drag show for children (yep, it really was) called Fantabulosa.  Extras are a guy all-over tattoos who was delighted in my interest, a girl enjoying a show and another girl enjoying a drink.  Actually I was a bit sad, the girl with the drink gave me a flashing smile as I was lowering the camera.  I would have liked to catch it but the moment was gone.
Of what else I saw, I liked best The Maids, hatters from Australia, and Maple Staplegun, ditto.  I'd have liked to watch Strong Lady's show but the crowds were approx 30 deep round her, so not a chance.

Perhaps I'll do better tomorrow.

Thank you all hugely for your comments stars and hearts on yesterday, I was quite bowled over.  You are such a lovely lot!  And any commenting I don't manage tonight, which could be most of it to be honest, will be done in the morning  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.