Shirely atop Dunadd Fort

I took this photo today as a start to compiling a picture portrait of my mother-in-law. She died yesterday after living 99 years and some months, having been born on Valentine's Day 1920. Her heart was not up to the challenges posed by smoking-affected lungs (despite stopping almost 50 years ago) when hit by influenza and then pneumonia.

In July 2001 she accompanied S, our older daughter (C) and me on a trip around part of Scotland. We wanted C to see the view from the top of Dunadd Fort, and encouraged the then 81 year old to wait for us as we wouldn't be long. I had taken a number of photos (on film), and went to take a photo of the natural gateway to the top. There I was surprised by Shirley coming steadily (albeit slowly) through the narrow point.

My photo is of her celebration of her achievement.

Her life story is one of quiet determination. Even near the end of her life she was painting and planning a third public exhibition of her paintings. (Her first was in March 2017). She enjoyed discussing quantum physics with her grandsons. She was happiest in her home which she had had built for her 25 years ago, and then finished much of the inside herself. 

She wanted a slate tile floor, which I offered to lay for her. I had to teach myself how to lay tiles, and began in a smallish bathroom, around the bath and the handbasin. There was limited space. It was the best place to start as everything thereafter was easy! I finished. But she decided that she wanted another metre or two into the main room. Rather than ask me (as I had expressed relief that I'd finished), she laid the scrim herself, and had started to waterproof it. Finding it like that, I completed the task. She had been right that the extra bit made it look so much better.

She will be missed; although she does remain within each of us who knew and loved her. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.