Derelict Sunday

I remembered this old burnt out mansion was on the back road to Perthville where we were heading for lunch so my driver made a detour so I could get a blip. Bathurst was the first inland town in Australia after they crossed the Blue Mountains in 1813. The settlers who did well built some grand old homes, usually on top of a hill for protection ( against the unhappy residents, the Aboriginal people who were displaced). This one had a fire at some stage and hasn’t been restored but looks an interesting old building from a distance.

I’ll add an extra derelict blip. It is the Birthday Pavlova which came to an unfortunate end, I had put it in the laundry on top of the washing machine at my daughter’s place away from kids and dogs....unfortunately it came a cropper during the spin cycle. It was on my favourite old Pavlova plate I’ve had for about 40 years. Oh dear. The good news is I had made two pavlovas so we had a spare. The dog enjoyed licking the floor after we got most of the mess cleaned up.

Maddy had a nice birthday. We bought her a box of bits to make friendship bracelets ( which change colour in the sunlight), some chocolates and a new recorder. She is borrowing one from school at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.