Summer Camp

Dear Diary,

This camp is right down the road from me.  it began as Camp Hiawatha in 1900, an all girl's camp.  It draws young adults from all over the world each summer.  I only went to camp once, in the summer of 1960.  I went to the Happy T Ranch in Romney, NH.  It focused on horse riding skills and each week we had a rodeo.  I loved it as, at that juncture of my life, I was completely horse crazy.  I rode every day, spent time brushing down the horses and cleaning stalls.  One night I was awoken at 2am to go to the barn to see a foal being born!  I was in heaven.  New Hampshire is seen as the birthplace of the children's summer camp, beginning in the 1880's.  I didn't return to camp because the following summer I began working summer jobs but the memories of a summer at the ranch will always be with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.