25 Years Ago Today

Dear Diary,

It was 25 years ago today that I bought my little farmhouse in western Maine.  It is the longest I've lived in any place.  It took over 12 years to renovate the place and it was in sad need of extensive renovations when I bought it.  For 15 years I commuted back and forth on weekends to my teaching job outside Boston.  Finally, 10 years ago, I moved her permanently.  It has been quite a journey.  Now, my little house is adapting once again as I make it suitable for "aging in place". For the first couple of years, my bedroom was where it is now.  Seems I've come full circle.  I love my little house built in 1851.  We have a lot of memories and we have lots more to make!  

 I've added two photos of my old kitchen in 1995.  I wish I still had that treadle sewing machine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.