Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

World Cup Champions!

(prickly, golden  back blip)

I got up earlier than usual to make breakfast (apple juice and cottage cheese...soooo much effort!) then settled into watching the final World Cup match.  I was on the edge of my seat the entire time.  I couldn't yell or scream when the U.S. scored because mom was still sleeping (it was relatively early here).  I don't think there was any question about awarding the penalty kick and I'll take the shooter over the goalie any day.  But the Dutch stuck in there and as far as I was concerned the outcome was always in doubt.  

FIFA, as usual, treats women players like dirt.  They are going to double the amount of winnings for women for the next go round but they're increasing the men's pool, too.  There will still be about a $200,000 disparity between the sexes.  No one can tell me that the dedication and training of the women's teams from around the world is anything less than the men.  I certainly felt the same sort of discrimination when I was a collegiate athlete. I entered college the year Title IX (1972) supposed equality in education and athletics, went into effect.  

It was raining early but the skies cleared beautifully so we took a ride to Amado.  I pulled off to the side of the road and snapped this photo.  I remember BC warning us of being mindful of copyrighted material and of using photos taken from televisions so I thought I should keep the memories of the match in my head.
----------------------------------------------
An old woman says to an old man at the rest home, “I can guess your age.”
The man doesn’t believe her, but tells her to go ahead and try.
“Pull down your pants,” she says.
She inspects his rear end for a few minutes and then says, “You’re 84 years old.”
“That’s amazing,” the man says. “How did you know?”
“You told me yesterday.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.