Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Unexpected reflections

This morning I phoned some vets I am considering using for the new puppy. Although I really liked the vet we used for Murdoch very much, I find I do not want to go there without associating the place with poor Murdoch's last week of life when he was so ill. Silly perhaps but I get sad when I think of going there. I then went to see the new vet practice and they seem very nice, and I have booked the puppy in for a checkup as soon as we get her, as requested by the breeder.

I then went to the new pet shop in our village and bought some Kongs as they were not available on Amazon. They have such amazing things there I am pleased I bought all of my puppy stuff on Amazon or else it could have been a very expensive morning!

Last year at a charity event Gavin bid for tickets to Glyndebourne Opera which he won - it includes top rate seats, a picnic supper and an overnight stay at a hotel in Eastbourne. However, just our luck that this takes place 4 days after we get our puppy...so last night we were not sure if we could go and whether I should try to sell the tickets on EBay (as the show we are seeing, Die Zauberflöte, was sold out months ago and tickets are very much in demand). However this morning I contacted someone who lives near to us who I had already previously spoken to about puppy sitting, and she is very happy to come babysit the new puppy while we are at the opera. We obviously will not stay overnight at the hotel but will come home afterwards. I am sure it will work as it will only be for a few hours and she will continue my toilet training routine while we are out, and the puppy will be in her own home so no change in routine for her. I suppose we will lose the hotel booking but at least we don't lose the opera tickets and dinner.

This is a quiet week to get organised as we leave to go on our special holiday to South America on Sunday morning. With two sons graduating, one finishing school, and Gavin's significant birthday coming up, we planned this special holiday a year ago to celebrate these events. I really hope I get my camera back in time, it is an easy repair and not that expensive but they are waiting for a part from Nikon.

Unexpected reflections for Mono Monday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.