Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A River Runs through It

A rainy morning, but it was a light rain so not bad for my morning walk with Xena.

I have not done much today. Gavin went into the village  to get his hair cut and I went with him as I needed to a couple of items from Waitrose and then went to the pet shop to get some things for Xena. 

I also went to the river to take this photo as today's Wide Wednesday challenge has a theme of movie titles. At first I thought David has set a very difficult challenge but I soon started thinking of suitable movie titles. Luke suggested The Good, The Bad and The Ugly but I thought that might be unkind if I took a photo of three family members as who would be The Ugly?! I decided on the 1992 film directed by Robert Redford called A River Runs Through It, as this river runs through our village so thought it was very appropriate.

Tonight we are going out for dinner for the first time since lockdown. We are going to a quiet restaurant at a small boutique hotel/spa that I feel comfortable going to, I am sure they will follow the safety measures correctly. We also had another booking on another night for a restaurant in a pub, which I have cancelled as I feel that will be busier and there will be more people in that building being a pub and a restaurant, and I don’t feel comfortable going anywhere near a pub just yet.

It’s all a bit confusing as on the one hand the government have introduced all sorts of measures to entice people back into restaurants to help that sector -  reducing VAT from 20% to 5% for the hospitality sector and allowing up to £10 off per head for diners eating from Mondays to Wednesdays and yet on the other hand there are scientists petitioning the WHO about reversing the reduction in safety measures as they believe the virus is airborne and can linger in the air and not only transmitted through droplets. I know the younger generation have had enough and just want to get on with their lives as they were before and are not social distancing at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.