Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Too hot for some!

We had a sunny, warm day! In fact, too warm for Archie and I as we walked across the Meadows. He could lie down in the shady grass, but I couldn’t...

We wanted to check out a dog friendly cafe in the West End, grams, but I didn’t want to walk that far, so we took the bus, and then hopped on the tram for a couple of stops. They were both mobbed! Town is crazier than I’ve ever seen it, and it's not even the Festival yet. There are SO MANY large groups of teenage foreign students being taken around on walking tours. Archie's not too keen on crowded buses, but he was pretty good, yipping happily each time as we dismounted.

The cafe was pretty good, but the loud RAP music meant we didn’t stay for a coffee, and probably wouldn’t bother again.

Crowded bus back along to the Meadows, and a long hot walk across in the sun. I was puggled, but made it to the local cafe for a coffee. It was quiet and cool - no muzak - and always does a nice flat white. It's a really nice wee space.

We took a notion to get some boxes of old photos down and sort through them. Chucked out masses of unwanted stuff - old letters, my diaries when we travelled in Eric the combi van, old frames. Watched tennis at the same time, so that was a very productive afternoon.

I'm going to digitise the photos. I have a neat photo app (Photomyne) that scans several photos at once and saves them individually. When I get round to it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.