Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Good news and not so good news...

I got it wrong - they weren’t going to operate on my carpal tunnel today, mainly because it hadn’t been proved to be carpal tunnel. Just because a GP says it is, doesn’t mean that's true.

No, I was seeing a consultant, who, after an X-ray, declared it wasn’t CT, but arthritis in a wee bone at the base of my thumb, causing much the same symptoms as CT. He wants to see an MRI scan of the wrist next, and I asked if it could be done in Edinburgh (I’d come through to the hospital in Livingston, a bus journey of more than an hour). He thinks he can remove this bone (apparently I can do without it), but wants to check the 3D xray first.

I got back home about 6.30, having left the house about 11am and spent most of it going through a not very scenic part of Central Scotland, and in a waiting room with Wimbledon on a small TV.

The gasman rang at 8am to say that he could come this afternoon to change our manual gas fire into a remote controlled one. All done now, and it’s great!

As I waited for my local bus home, I used the ten minutes to pop into the graveyard to take a photo, otherwise you would have had a photo of the waiting room that I spent several hours in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.