Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A grand day out

JR went for a run, I did my gym sessions (gosh, we’re so good!)

Elizabeth came to collect Archie today instead of tomorrow, he doesn’t mind at all. He went crackers, especially as she always brings him some treats! (Extra1)

We set off for a circular walk, hopefully including a treat, and possibly some steps to get the heart rate up. We walked round to the Grassmarket, hoping to see it getting back to normal, with people using the outdoor seating, and yes, it did look almost normal, only with a fraction of the folk on a sunny (though still a chilly breeze) afternoon.

We passed some groovy wee shops (Extra 2) one called ‘Sauce’, with a window full of - yes - sauces. A niche market if ever I saw one. We then met our pal who owns the (Famous) Vintage Emporium, so we went in for a guided tour. I’ve never been in there, thinking it was just for ‘fancy dress parties’ and I tend to avoid such things. But no, it was FULL of everything. Kilts, leather jackets, Aran jumpers (£14!) uniforms, cashmere jumpers - you name it. 

We then went for a coffee at the French patisserie (where I resisted my absolute favourites - the flans) and then further along to have an ice cream at Mary’s Milk Bar. I had a SINGLE scoop!! I haven’t had a single scoop ice cream, possible since I was a wee child and couldn’t demand a bigger one.

A quick stride up A stagger up the Vennel Steps and back home through the Meadows. I was fair puggled, and needed a sit down, so we popped in to see Rufus and his mum. She persuaded (!) us to have a wee glass of prosecco...

We got rather comfy... so much so that we forgot the time, and Elizabeth arrived back with Archie and wondered why we weren’t there. She had been trying to ring me, but my earpods were still connected, so I didn’t hear the phone.

No harm done - she eventually came down for a glass of fizz too. In fact, we eventually arrived back home at 8pm. 

A grand day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.