Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

We hit the town

Gym for JR, three HIITs for me in the morning. Then Archie went out with Elizabeth for day and we went off for a jaunt in town. Actually, it was to celebrate (early) Hazel’s birthday. 

What do we all like now and again? Yes - a good medium rare steak (and good thrice fried chips). And so we went to Hawsksmoor again. Hazel hasn’t been there since we took her there for her birthday two years ago.

When we came in, we were shown to a table in a wee side room, away from the hustle and bustle of the main room. We asked if we could sit in the main room, and the waitress said that they were aware that I (I had booked it) had complained about the loud MUZAK last time I was there (in fact, I wrote to the management with a few suggestions). I thanked them for their consideration, but we wanted to sit in the main room. In fact, I was quite impressed that they knew me (as being a complaining customer and clocked my arrival). Actually, the muzak was not offensive where we were sitting.

We had a fabulous meal - a tasty heritage tomatoes entree, steak and chips main and pavlova for dessert. And a bottle of champagne, of course.

From there we fancied another wee glass of wine, but the Cafe Royal was too busy - Hazel had never been there! It’s a traditional pub with marvellous tiles and stained glass windows. 

So we walked down town and caught the wonderful Spinning Blowfish, a terrific band I’ve blipped before. They had a huge, appreciative crowd. (Extras)

We walked on round George Street. Everyhwere was mobbed! But we took a chance and tried to get into the Dome. And we succeeded! It’s always nice to go there- it never disappoints. We had another bottle of wine (it’s more cost effective with three people…) I had a chat to a chap at the next table. He had put a bet on Italy (right at the beginning) to win the Euros, but that wasn’t the only reason he wanted Italy to win tomorrow - he agreed that penalty should not have been awarded. And he was English!

When we eventually got home, we had another bottle of wine with Elizabeth. I think the diet has gone haywire today! Too bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.