Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A day of sport!

JR did not go to the gym today. Nothing to do with being out on the town yesterday, of course, but to do with a brunch date at 11am with her gym pals, all of whom must have skipped this morning’s gym session.

I knew I’d be having a day in front of the TV watching sport, so I took Archie, not just round the block, but away into town! First of all we called in to say hello to Dougal. Noses got quite near each other, but a growl slipped out of Archie. Christine is quite tired - having a puppy (on your own) is all consuming.

From there we walked across the Meadows, and stopped at Kauai. We always get such a nice welcome there, don’t know why, as we’re not big spenders. Archie was good - he sometimes just stops still and refuses to move once he realises where we’re going.

I decided to walk on down through the Grassmarket - haven’t walked that far for quite a while. And yes, Mary’s Milk Bar was open! And there wasn’t a long queue, it being still relatively early in the day.

I resisted for, oh, about 5 minutes. But a young couple came and sat with me on the bench (still plenty of room for social distancing), and they ate their cones. Eventually I told them I was going to have to get one! I came back to sit with them and we had a chat in between licks (of ice cream).

They were English, from Wigan, up for a few days and loved the city. I always like to hear that. They obviously knew about Mary’s ice cream, and had been to The Elephant House, as they’re big Harry Potter fans. Yes, the football was mentioned, but I wished them good luck.

I was fair puggled by the time I got home, (7,168 steps) and JR was still not back from her ‘brunch’. I watched a bit of the Tour de France, which is epic - all through the mountains. Those cyclists are awesome.

JR eventually came home, then went for a brisk walk round the Meadows with Chrissy, before going to the supermarket, then taking Archie out again. 

I hope everyone behaves themselves tonight, may they all play fair, and may the best team win!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.