Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Treasure - #widwed170719

Well, I got a bit skunked on my entry for this week's widwed challenge.  With the subject being 'treasure' I thought I'd treat myself to a ticket for the Winchester College Treasury this morning, but found - by legging it down there - that is was only open in the afternoon, when I'd be having a cuppa with OG.  So then I went on to the Cathedral to look for a blip amongst all their gold and silverware only to discover that a local college had taken over the whole building for the day and everyone else was barred!

Still, City Museum to the rescue.  And although this wasn't at all the kind of wide shot I'd been thinking of, it is at least taken on the widest setting of my widest lens, so hopefully will qualify.

These floor tiles are medieval - about 1000 years old, I think, but whether they came from the Anglo-Saxon Minster or the Norman Cathedral I'm not entirely sure.  They are made of the kind of earthy orange of all good plant pots and any glaze on them was clear.  Personally I prefer them in mono, but I did think them astonishingly beautiful.  Real treasure.

Thanks so much to BobsBlips for hosting this week's challenge.

And have a good evening, all  xx

Results of WFW19_14 are as follows:
HEARTS (in no particular order) to
dfb24
Pleach
KathGordon
AGBPhotography
Diane2104


and HONOURABLE MENTIONS to
Freuchie
SueJay50
Robvegnuti
Springlilly
ExtraTime

and my thanks to you all x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.