Squirrel Blip Friday .....

.... takes a back seat to this beauty!

My Squirrel Blip Friday shot is in the extras. 

It was an interesting morning starting with an unfortunate find in our Monarch caterpillar nursery.  I had been watching all day yesterday one of the cats that had J-hooked sometime before yesterday morning .... waiting for him/her to pupate.  But by late last night he/she still hadn't. Sadly when I went down this morning I could tell that it was dead .... there was some sort of stuff coming from its mouth.  I took it out of the enclosure and squished it and then disposed of the poor lost thing.  I hate losing any of these precious caterpillars but sometimes it can't be helped. The good news is yesterday I found seven new monarch eggs to add to the nursery.

The next interesting thing to happen is our neighborhood hawk decided to fly through our yard and land on the roof of the house directly above the sunroom .... also in the extra.  I went out to chase him off ... but not before I got a few pictures as any good blipper should!

As the temperatures are going to be in the high 90's again today I got the newspapers read early and then went for an earlier than usual swim. I set up the camera on the outside of the pool edge again hoping to get the hummingbird on the bee balm again.  I wasn't successful today so I was glad that I had gotten the above picture earlier whilst in the sunroom.  We were under the impression that the hummers we have been seeing are female .... but this one may possibly be a juvenile male.

I have spent the rest of the afternoon in the central air as I'm not totally stupid!  I'm trying to catch up on our May cruise vacation pictures. I have most of them processed so I should be able to post them in the next day or so. 

Happy Squirrel Blip Friday! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.