Juvenile ....

.... male ruby-throated hummingbird.

At least that's my best guess on this hummingbird.  Here's how I ended up with this shot ...

We started the day with a delicious breakfast courtesy of Richard ... he makes breakfast for us most Sunday's.  Then after breakfast we headed over to Housenick Memorial Park to get in an early walk ... trying to beat the heat again today.  I didn't take a whole lot of pictures as there wasn't much happening .... although we did see a lot of Monarch butterflies in the milkweed field which was so nice to see.

It was already quite hot by the time we returned so I stayed in the house reading the Sunday paper instead of being out in the sunroom which is where I love to be.  Besides there weren't any squirrels around anyway for my other squirrel journal, so why not enjoy the a/c. 

Shortly after lunch I went swimming and then it was back into the a/c! Do you see a pattern here?!?  We decided on take out for supper as I didn't want to cook anything and I didn't want Richard to have to grill anything out in the heat.  The indoor/outdoor weather station that we have registered a high today of 98° F …. with a "real feel" of 112°F. And that was at 4:00 pm this afternoon!  I had taken a picture of that and was going to blip that until this beauty showed up.


I was in the backyard after supper still on the lookout for squirrels when I spied him in the back near the feeder and the trumpet honeysuckle.  I had assumed it was a female because that's mainly what we see.  (Although lately we haven't seen much at all!)  So when I was looking at my pictures on the laptop I was quite surprised to see the "five o'clock" shadow on his chin. That why I  believe him to be a juvenile male!  And please correct me if I'm wrong!


It's still 88° F.  (real feel is 95°) as I post this at 7:43 pm .... tomorrow is supposed to be even hotter. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.