Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

3.12am this morning

I took this image with my iPhone at 3.12am this morning. It was an aerial shot of the 18th hole at Royal Port Rush and the Irishman Shane Lowry was about to win “The Open” Golf Championship in front of 50,000 spectators. It is one sporting event that I try to watch every year. There are 148 years of tradition around the tournament and it is steeped in history. It was thrilling to see Shane win in front of his home crowd and there wasn’t a dry eye in this household, I can tell you. I can’t even get my head around what it must be like to hit a golf ball in front of literally millions of people around the world who are watching with bated breath.

I have to confess to having a “Nigella Moment” at around 2.30am when I raided the biscuit container and knocked off two Tim Tam biscuits with my cup of Peppermint Tea. Well I need some sustenance to get me through the last hour of the gruelling 18 hole final round :).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.