In The Midst Of The Storm

Denver is known for its summer thunderstorms. They roll in over the mountains many an afternoon and create quite a show. I loved them when I lived here and have missed the frequency of a good thunderstorm in the years I’ve been back in England.

I’ve been here a few days now and thought it was about time for one and finally we got one today! And what a storm it was! I wish I could post a video on blipfoto! I don’t think in all the years I lived here I ever saw one quite like today’s! But then I don’t think I’ve ever watched one from the open balcony on the 19th floor of a high rise building!

In fact, we had not one, but TWO storms roll in today. This was the first one. See the Extra photo for what it looked like less than an hour later when the sun came out. About two hours later we then had another storm with torrential rain and more thunder and lightening. What a show - and I had a front row seat!

In other news - I’ve been enjoying my jazz-fest in Denver. Last night I went to a jazz bar called Live@Jacks, right on the main drag here, and saw Dotsero, a well known local band. I used to love hearing them on jazz radio when I lived here and they’re still as good as they ever were.

This morning I was back at Dazzle, where I went a few days ago. This time I was there for their breakfast jazz event - an all you can eat buffet (lots of delicious food) and 4 hours of jazz. It was mainly a local jazz band on the stage, but there were also many other musicians in the room and they were invited up one by one to join in the music making. All great fun! I think I’ll be heading that way on the remaining Saturdays that I’m here! Even when I’m back to work, I may even have to start flying Denver trips on Fridays just so I can go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.