MY NEW KITCHEN GADGET

We had a good morning at the Radio Station - it was just Jo and me today on Girls About Town, so I named us the “Dynamic Duo”.  We found plenty to talk about for two hours and I’ve put a shot in as an extra of Jo and me with our two fans - in case you are wondering, we do have a few more listeners than that!  We were thrilled this morning when Karen, the receptionist, brought two FAB ice lollies in for us - because she said we were fab!  So kind of her as it was rather hot in the studio.

I also gave a shout-out for Blip, including my Street Challenge, which I have adapted for radio and which airs every Wednesday afternoon at 2.30 p.m. If you are interested in listening, then if you follow this Link at about 2.25 p.m. (UK time) on a Wednesday, and click "Listen Live"  you should hear it.  

It was always a standing joke in our house when I started taking photographs especially with our two sons, and our older son, Martyn, used to say “If it doesn’t move, Mum will take a shot of it!”  I remember being intrigued with the litter bins in Spain and even taking a shot of one of those, and of course, Mr. HCB and our two sons used to laugh, so I had to join in, because of course, it was absolutely true!

Now I have a new kitchen gadget - the comment could very well be “If it grows in the garden and is edible, then Mrs. HCB will take a shot, after she has spiralized it!”  

We do have a small hand spiralizer, but with our friend, Arthur Itis, being much in evidence in our wrists and thumbs, Mr. HCB and I have found it increasingly difficult to use this.  I did buy a cheap one, similar to this, from a local store, but it was so flimsy that I took it back, because I knew it wouldn’t last long, particularly as I will be using it quite a lot.

I asked Google about the best spiralizers and this one, made by Brieftons came out top.  It has seven blades, so I can spiralize anything from courgettes, broccoli stalks, beetroot, carrots, onions, cucumber, cabbage, potatoes, sweet potatoes, apples and pears.  I can also choose whether they will come out as thin noodles, thick noodles like spaghetti, wavy or even curly fries.  Tonight I will be making chicken strips with a satay sauce on a bed of courgetti, with ginger and garlic - my mouth is watering already and I am really looking forward to using my new kitchen gadget - although I will need to be careful, because the blades are very sharp!  Watch this space to see how I get on with it. 

This new WOE - or way of eating - following the Fast800 Eating Plan, is proving to be successful as I have now lost almost a stone in five weeks and am now able to wear jeans, two sizes smaller than the ones I have been wearing, that had been consigned to the bottom drawer sometime ago.  Two people at the Radio Station told me today that my summer top was too big, but I must admit, I’m not a fan of skin-tight tops - and I think at my age, something a little looser feels better.  

Mr. HCB is now harvesting lettuce, French beans, mange tout peas and blueberries and hopefully before too long we will have runner beans, green and yellow courgettes, tomatoes, cucumber, blackberries and his famous tromboncino courgettes, so I’m sure he would agree with the following quote:

“There's nothing better than home-grown, 
     chemical-free fruits and vegetables.” 
Stana Katic

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.