TINY TUESDAY - PHOTOBOMBED BY AN ANT!

I have a huge pile of stuff on top of our spare room bed - at least 6 duvets and pillows, sheets, pillowcases, tablecloths etc etc and that doesn’t include suitcases and lots of things left over from our holiday earlier in the year.  

When I read how much clearing out my Blip friend, HarlingDarling, had done yesterday, it fired me up to do some myself today.  I am determined to clear it all, so I decided that I would get out early and take my photograph.  

On Sunday Mr. HCB showed me a tiny butternut squash, which is just about an inch long, and said he thought it might do for Tiny Tuesday - he is so good and is always on the lookout for something for me!  He has been watering these, in preference to the flowers, many of which, as I have said, have wilted and died, but we both think it is better to do it this way and then in the Autumn, we can have a real go at the flowerbed.  It does need some work on it and hopefully, once it has rained, we will be able to dig it and introduce some sharp sand to the heavy clay soil.  That’s the plan, anyway.

I decided that an early Blip was the order of the day and then later, when my work is finished, I can just sit and read and listen to music again, which sounds good to me.

Here is the tiny butternut squash, the flower for which is over-run by ants.  I looked up what ants eat, and apparently, many of them eat sugary nectar, or the liquid that plants make. They also feed on the sweet sugary liquid that aphids make when they digest leaves called "honeydew".  It was fascinating to watch them, but I didn’t get too close.

Mr. HCB has gone off to cricket already;  he and Keith were fortunate to find a shady spot yesterday and are hoping to get the same seats today.  He made me smile though - and it reminded me of being abroad and near the pool in an hotel - he said that there were quite a lot of people at the match from the North East as Gloucester are playing Durham - obviously they are staying for the duration of the game so they leave their bags on seats and then go off into Cheltenham to have breakfast!

Blip done, it’s time to tackle the bedding pile.  

“I think everybody should study ants. 
They have an amazing 
     four-part philosophy. 
Never give up, 
     look ahead, 
          stay positive and 
               do all you can.”
Jim Rohn

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.