Crossing the Snail Rubicon

I cannot believe I missed the exciting weather in the early hours of this morning.
Apparently there was torrential rain, with lightning and thunder thrown in for good measure, and I slept through it all. Not one raindrop against the window pane nor a flash of electricity wakened me from my slumbers. It was only when I got up and saw the plant containers on the patio overflowing with water that I realised the extent of the rainfall.

The slugs and snails were euphoric and had taken to the paths in numbers. This one was making a determined but slow traverse of the patio. As it approached the crack between the slabs, it must have thought it was crossing an empty motorway with a red shoed giant standing guard.

The rest of the day has passed in a blur with one hiatus when a delivery of a nest of glass coffee tables arrived in a well secured wooden crate and my first reaction of ‘I’ll need a man’, preferably with a hammer and chisel, was replaced with a ‘can do’ show of brute force by this Lady with her own hammer and wall stripping tool acting as a chisel. Result!

I am now on a marathon of staying awake to greet a friend returning from Spain to Edinburgh airport at midnight and staying overnight in the Dower House once she finds her way here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.