The Best Time of Day

This may be my last early morning cycle run this summer up to the Braids to behold Edinburgh and the coast down to North Berwick Law in the golden glow of sunshine. It is a cycle run through Morningside and Fairmilehead best done with little traffic in order to comfortably miss the worst of the potholes and drains which litter the surface of the roadway on which I have to cycle. With the mornings drawing in, I have to cycle later and the traffic is busier.

The horses in a field on Braid Hills road were standing quietly contemplative in the sunshine of a new day as I passed on my way home. I joined them for a few minutes of perfect solitude away from the madding crowd before pedalling downhill and home to pick up the reins of domestic duties.

Later His Lordship and I were joined by his daughter for coffee outside, giving us time to people watch. It is not often that we can sit en plain air without feeling cold, but today was one of those days and there were plenty visitors to watch, in all manner of clothing from abayas to minimal scraps of apparel. People are fascinating, especially around Edinburgh Festival time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.