Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

London!

Yesterday I was told it would be 4 to 24 hours before my new SIM is activated. I was amazed then when I got to the Lodge and it was already working. I had WhatsApp messages to prove it. One of them was from a friend in Dubai asking if I was in the UK. It turns out she is here too and the only day she had free was today, so after the morning service at Wonersh - where we got a very warm welcome - we headed to London.

It was fantastic to be out on a dry and cool day. We met up near the Disney store on Oxford Street. First thing was a Cream tea in Cafe de Pierre and then we walked down Regent Street. [While we were waiting for the car yesterday, there were magazines on the table with loads of info so we had some idea of what's happening.]

We were treated to a movie as well! The Lion King (v2) at a cinema near Goodge Street station. I had hoped to catch this movie before I left Dubai but it would have been impossible as it was released just two days before we flew out. The cinema was packed with absolutely no ventilation. I wish I had got up and said something to a member of staff. Anyway, we all survived without an incident.

It was close to 10 pm when we said our goodbyes. Shabnam gave us a ride to the station and we were on a train in no time heading to Waterloo. There was a fast train to Surbiton within ten minutes and we were home 35 minutes after that. Not bad at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.