Terracotta Exhibit

From April 2019 to April 2020, a number of genuine terracotta figures from China will be on exhibit in Rotterdam.  AW and I decided to view it today.  We arrived at 13.00 and we were the only ones there.  I think most of the potential viewers are on holiday elsewhere, and, frankly, they can't be blamed.  I took about 30-40 shots and even made a 2.5-minute video, which I've posted on FB.  They are impressive to look at and are taller than the average person here.  That said, I think that if we were to travel to China to see the whole thing, the view would be even more astounding.  To think that no two figures are the same, that each one has unique facial features, and that there are at least 6000 soldiers -- simply overwhelming.  Here's a Wikipedia link -
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terracotta_Army 

After that, some coffee and cake, and then back to the car, which I had parked quite close to the Rotterdam Police Academy, where I used to work.  I actually worked at two police academies, Apeldoorn (headquarters) and Rotterdam, and I'm not really keen on paying either of them a visit, although it did cross my mind today to do so.

The heat has been turned on here.  For those of you going through the same thing, you know what mean.  35 degrees in the shade is like operating inside an oven that has just been switched on.  It stayed this way till mid-evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.