In Memoriam.

This is I think Cornu aspersum, the common garden snail.

Its a bit of a sad tale really. I found it on the pavement by the recreation field. As I think I have only ever blipped one snail before I took a few shots. Fifty yards further on I sat on a bench to look at them in the viewfinder.

It seemed to me that I could do better. So off I went back up the road to have another go. But alas, tragedy had happened. In those few minutes some walker not looking at the ground had brought the poor creature’s life to a sudden close.

I was overcome by a feeling of guilt. Why, when I had captured its image, did I not lift it off the pavement and onto the grass?

So all I can do to assuage my neglect is to give it its brief moment of fame. Very few Arnside snails will be seen in U.S.A., Canada, Switzerland, Germany, Australia and New Zealand and elsewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.