More mall pix

So of course the new cable box turned out to be defective, requiring a return to the mall to exchange it for one that seems to be working as it should (I'm keeping my fingers crossed.)  Walking through the Food Court, I took many photographs of people sitting, walking, and eating, most of which didn't come out well.  But I really liked this shot of the little family, because the mom and son seem so connected and content.  And the little girl was in her own world.

I found out today that I had forgotten to mail in my auto registration form and it was now three months expired!  Fortunately the auto license office is inside a drug store in the little shopping mall next door.  Unfortunately, because it was the last of the month, there was a long waiting line.  But I was able to pass the time talking with Geraldine, a Filipino immigrant a bit younger than me who was before me in line.  I saw photos of her grandkids and we commiserated with each other about our aches and pains.  That would never have happened when I lived in New York or in Chicago.  Seattle is the first place I've lived where people are sociable with people they encounter in lines or in supermarkets or waiting at a street corner.  Any Seattleite would tell you it's a difficult place to make friends, but there is an openness here that I really appreciate.  And it's why I knew May would be happy here, all things being relative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.