More Steeple Chasing

Dear Diary,

I must admit, I love church steeples.  I often will pull off the road just to look at and photograph them.  This is an especially nice one on Christ Church in North Conway, NH.  It, and the church, are built in the Carpenter Gothic style which became popular in the US in the mid-19th century, about the time this church was built.  It was memorialized in the famous Grant Wood painting, American Gothic.  I was taken by the crosses which seem to be Celtic crosses, not something you see in Northern New England much.  Anyway, another hot and sticky day but perhaps a chance of a thunder storm this afternoon to cool things down a bit.  I broke down yesterday and bought an ac for downstairs.  I just couldn't stand it anymore.

Here's a link about the American Gothic style...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.