Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

River reflections

This photo was meant to be all about the sky, as it was dramatic today with blue patches and wonderful rain clouds. However, I got my camera back from repair last night, and I did check all the settings but forgot to check the image quality setting, and they had changed it from raw to jpeg - there is not much you can do to capture the details in the sky when shooting in jpeg, I never shoot in jpeg. So this is a failed attempt at capturing that lovely sky!

I slept so much better last night, this morning I felt like a new person and had more energy. Gavin overslept through his alarm and left for work 2.5 hours later than his usual departure time of 6.30am. Jet lag has a terrible effect on sleep patterns.

I am a little concerned about Adam travelling in Central America for the next month, you hear terrible stories about young travellers in places like that. My only consolation is that he is travelling with two long standing friends who I have known since they were young, and they are all such sensible and responsible young men. He is currently in Bocas del Toro, Panama, known for its beautiful islands and beaches. So imagine my alarm when I get a Whatsapp from him last night to say that his one friend nearly drowned in strong currents yesterday, while he and his other friend were busy saving a middle aged American man who was drowning, whose family was sitting on the beach watching helplessly. The man was fine, and Adam's friend had to go to a doctor to get his lungs percussed but is fine now.

Today I went to deliver the postcard we collected from the post barrel in Post Office Bay in the Galapagos. The recipient lived about 8 miles from our house so it was not too far to go - unfortunately the man it was addressed to was out, so his adult son took delivery of the postcard from me, and did not seem to realise how unique and charming this postal system was that his father was receiving a card written by friends of theirs that was only posted 7 days ago - probably quicker than the real postal system! (See my blip of 

We have been so lucky having such a communicative and lovely breeder. Yesterday the puppies had a photo shoot and last night she sent through some beautiful images of the puppies. I have added them as an extra - you will note our puppy being rather dominant, standing over her sister! Doubt she will be a timid wallflower. I also found out the puppies' given names by their new families and it is just as well we did not name our pup Maya as was on our shortlist, as her one sister is being named Maya. 

Tonight we are going out to supper with our neighbours. It is our last bit of freedom for a while, as having the puppy means we - and mainly me - will be very house bound until she has had all her inoculations and can go out for walks. It is going to be a big adjustment from tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.