Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Swiss National Day

Today is the Anniversary of the Federal Charter of 1291. 
The Swiss Confederacy was first celebrated in 1891 and every year since 1899. It has only been an official holiday since 1994. You can read more about it here if you care to: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swiss_National_Day

Like V1k1/Vicki, I'm letting myself be inspired by Emma Davies' '30 Days of Composition'. Today, the prompt is 'Viewpoint'.
I went down to the lake to get a change in my points of view and enjoyed getting this back view of the very large steam-boat called La Suisse. I purposely took this shot from the back making the flag the most important element. I love the steam coming up as the boat starts to leave. You can just read the name of the boat through the steam. Don't you love the captain standing proudly on his little perch and the feeling of movement as the water churns up with the motion of the paddles and the flag unfurls and flaps so we can see the whole design.

La Suisse is my favourite steam-boat on Lake Léman.

Talking of view points, A photo in extras to make you smile: I saw the front page of The Economist and loved the cartoonist's picture! It isn't very easy to read, but on the side of the bus (underneath Boris' capacious 'derrière' are the words: "Make Britain Great Again"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.