Oh dear - What have I done !

Went to the match this afternoon.  The last pre- season friendly. The only one played at home.  Newcastle United v French club  St Etienne. Our 3 new players made their home debuts - Brazilian Joelinton played from the start  (  he scored the first goal) and Dutchman Willems and Frenchman St Maximin  came on as substitutes.  I thought Newcastle played well at times  and were definitely the better side.  The 3 new signings were all impressive.  The final score was Newcastle 2 St Etienne 1.

The usual gate for a pre season friendly is around 24,000 but today it was only 16,686.  I guess this is due to the fact that lots of fans intend to boycott games this season as a protest against the owner Mike Ashley.  There is a call for everyone to boycott the first match of the season next Sunday against Arsenal.  I wonder how that will go.

I had a bit of fun with my collage and have included two shots which I took before kick off and which might look as though our new manager Steve Bruce and Joelinton have their heads in their hands wondering if they have done the right thing in joining Newcastle. Just me being silly.  Thanks to admirer for hosting Silly Saturday

Musical Link - HOME GAME by Cole Swindell

Steps today - 9,127

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.