Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Looking me over

...with all of his compound eyes, this immature Blue Dasher was living up to his name as he looked quite dashing.  I took this with my 300 lens, so was a little surprised to get such good detail on the compound eyes.  Cropped and spot brightening on the face; otherwise left the image alone.  I liked the perch and the clean background.  I am putting another image in Extra of an immature male Common Whitetail, which looks very different than the adult male of the same species - might be interesting for my ode-loving friends in whitetail territory.

Hubs and I went to the gym today - light cardio and weights for me; cardio for hubs.  Then, home to potter in the garden.  Tonight we are making our annual visit to the NJ State Fair.  I've got three photos entered in the photography competition and have been told that two have gotten Honorable Mentions.  Very curious to see which two the judges liked.  No doubt we will eat something relatively unhealthy while we are there, but hey, it's only once a year!

Two more pics on Flickr, starting HERE with a teensy-weensy monarch caterpillar, followed by the most hair-arsed fly you've ever seen.  Worth a look, good for a laugh.

I've netted over several more milkweed plants to 1) protect the caterpillars that are feeding from being picked off by wasps, and 2) to prevent any more eggs on those plants.  Keeping watch on about 10 chrysalids now - please let me know if there is someone you want me to release a butterfly in memory of.  Doesn't matter if I've released one before for your loved one; I have my own list that I release for every year.  

Happy Monday.
Debbi

On Depression ... at its worst, depression can end in suicide. Suicide is the 2nd leading cause of death in people ages 15-44, sadly.  If you know someone who is depressed, be a good listener...and encourage them to speak to a doctor or therapist.  Most of all, don't abandon them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.