Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Phyrne

No, it’s just a fern of some sort outside my neurologist’s office. The title is an homage to “Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries,” the Australian series set in 1920’s Melbourne. We both like it, especially the sexual tension between Phryne and Jack. :-)

As I feared, on 5 September I will be having surgery on my left shoulder rotator cuff. He wasn’t very optimistic that it would be the final solution to my problems. There’s quite a bit of muscle atrophy so I shouldn’t expect any strength to return. The main goal will be to relieve pain and increase range of motion a bit more. It will mean 6 weeks of immobilization and at least 6 of therapy.

He offered two options:
1. Have this surgery (which will be open, not arthroscopic) and hope for a positive outcome. If it’s not successful, I’ll have to have a shoulder replacement
or
2. Continue with injections for the next 12-18 months then undergo an inevitable shoulder replacement.

I’m going in hoping for the best but prepared for the worst. I was fitted for a special sling and given a cooling machine to control the pain in lieu of opioids.

For the record, this will be my 16th surgery:
1 abdominal exploratory
1 hysterectomy (appendectomy tossed in)
2 carpal tunnel
2 wrist nerve releases
3 elbows (left was done twice)
1 hand
1 shoulder (the right one)
2 cervical spine (total 3 discs removed)
and 2 eyes for cataracts

Remember that tomorrow (or today depending on your location) is Happy Hump Day. Tag it HHD0807.

An elderly woman’s husband has been slipping in and out of a coma for several months. She has stayed by his side every day.
One day he told her, “You have been with me through the bad times. When I got fired, you were there. When my business failed, you were there. When we lost the house, you were there. When I got shot, you were there. When my health started failing, you were there. You know what?”
“What is it dear?“ she asked.
“I think you bring me bad luck.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.