MikeWest

By MikeWest

Quick Reaction

Also posted for yesterday today.

When I heard the call of this bird, my interest was piqued because I didn't recognize it. My first instinct was that it came from a duck. I took a second or two to locate the source because it wasn't on the water, but camouflaged in a tree. I only had a split second to get my camera set, the tripod at this point an incumbrance, and captured only one frame.

The bird flew into a nearby tree and was joined by its mate, I assume (see extra), and then I was able to get a few more composed shots. I could see now it didn't have webbed feet, so I think not a duck, maybe a type of heron?

I don't count myself as much of a bird photographer because I don't have enough patience to wait around, nor the skill and experience required to get great shots.

I had to crop in quite a bit and there's some motion blur, but I was quite pleased with the result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.