Blissfully cool

The heat wave has broken.  It was a comfortable night for sleeping and so cool this morning that I could open all the windows, blinds and drapes for the first time in quite a while.  The high today was 78 - absolutely normal.  It was an enormous relief to be able to go outside without trying to dodge the sun.

One place I went was the supermarket for my power walk (well, at least it is for me).  It was there I spotted these rainbow carrots.  I loved the shapes and colors, even the purple bands holding them together, and had to make this my blip.

I got a call from May today and the voices are back and intrusive.  She called last week to ask if I had been the one who told her Barry Gibb was dead - of course I said no and that he is not in fact dead.  Today she said that the voices were telling her that the husband of a next-door neighbor we haven't seen or heard from in more that 55 years had died.  It's as if things she's thinking about somehow seem to her to come at her from the outside rather than her own mind. The nurse practitioner who supervises her care told me last week that she was going to make a change in May's medication to address the increased urgency of the voices, but that hasn't happened yet.  I left her a message yesterday but haven't heard back yet.  It's so worrisome.

On the bright side, Lex and I have purchased our subscription for the new ballet season that starts in September.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.