Dazzle

I’ve very much enjoyed the local jazz scene during this long visit to Denver. The nearest jazz bar is just across the street from my condo. Dazzle has numerous performances all week long and on Saturdays they have a large breakfast buffet with a local band performing.

Today my friend Susie came with me. She and I trained as Travel Agents way back in 1984! I only worked for a short time as a Travel Agent before being hired by United Airlines to work in Reservations in 1985. Then the following year I took the rather surprising step to become a Flight Attendant. Susie eventually also came to work for United, but has worked most of her career as a Customer Service Agent at the airport. We’ve stayed in touch all these years even though there have been long periods of time not seeing each other. It never seems like any time at all. Friendships like this are precious! So I was very happy when she said she’d love to join me for a jazz breakfast!

We were there the whole morning, catching up on news, eating slowly, and enjoying some very good jazz music. The main band were joined a few times by other jazz musicians who were in the audience, including this trumpet player, and a couple of very ‘senior’ singers. It’s obvious that the jazz community is very tight here.

Once the buffet was over, we went back to my condo and enjoyed another few hours of catching up on news. I’m very much enjoying seeing some friends on this trip! I wish I had time for everybody!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.