Vicarage "garden" party

Saturday 10th August 2019

Backblip

I had planned to hold a vicarage garden party, as I did last year but the weather wasn't kind and it was pouring with rain. I spent the morning getting the house ready instead. Thankfully I do have quite a bit of space downstairs and I managed to get 35 chairs in. I wondered if some people wouldn't come, thinking that it wouldn't happen. I also didn't know who would turn up with cakes. It was all an unknown quantity. 

At 1.45pm most of my walking group turned up, they had kindly volunteered to staff the kitchen all afternoon. It proves what a great group the walking group have become. On the dot of 2pm people started arriving and they kept coming and coming. By 3pm the house was full to over flowing but everyone was enjoying themselves and no-one wanted to leave. Still people kept arriving and it was standing room only, I even had people sitting on the stairs! I did try and count and I think there were just over 50 people all in the house at the same time! 

The "garden" party finished at 5pm and we managed to get the last ones out by 5.10pm. I then cracked open a bottle of wine and shared it with my kitchen team as we sat and relaxed in the conservatory. 

Of course, when everyone left I had to start to tidy up, put all the cups and chairs away and return the house to its usual layout. I was so tired I left some of that to do tomorrow. 

A great afternoon and people really enjoyed it.


   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.