Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Getting ready........

.........for the Perseids meteor shower.

Our new marketing ambassadors have been busy today, posting to our social media channels about the peak of activity of the annual Perseids meteor showers.  I hope to capture something, so in anticipation I've been keeping an eye on the skies and it's pleasing to see the clouds of earlier starting to melt away.

I still think I'll need to be lucky.  We have a full moon that doesn't set until 3 am, I'm in the (artificially) brightly lit West Midlands and I'll probably fall asleep!  Still it would be great if some of our Blipfoto members capture the event.  If you're lucky and happen to be one of those, do tag it with #IshotPerseids so we can have a look tomorrow.

NASA has created a blog about them this year and has a webcam in Alabama trained on the sky in the hope of catching the action.  There's a link to the camera feed on the blog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.