Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Two gay penguins and a tub of olives

Most late night revellers abandon fast food wrappers. Not in Surrey. Half a tub of olives left on a wall from the night before …

I bought a morning coffee in Weybridge and I was walking away from the shop a car shot across the pavement in front of me to pull into a yard with half a dozen parking spaces. When I say shot I mean really fast and about six inches from my outstretched hand. The americano with soya milk would have been toast and I wouldn’t have been far behind.

I nearly just walked away but decided to have words. The guy looked worried and wound down his window. I am six foot three inches tall and a bit grizzly at the moment (TSM keeps telling me to give my beard more TLC) so maybe he was intimidated. “Did you realise you came within a few inches of knocking me over?” I said and he looked appalled and confessed that he didn’t even see me. He apologised profusely and I left it at that. He seemed genuine.

Life is full of such close run things. What was it Leslie Thomas said about his experience of serving as a soldier? “Life is a run across open ground”. True.

Work was okay. Feisty and positive team meeting. Very good actually. One of the best teams I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with. But the day as a whole was marred by really bad fatigue which may or may not be due to tapering off my prednisolone. I think each of my limbs has doubled in weight and I keep falling asleep.

On the plus side it was a nice sunny day and two gay penguins in a Berlin zoo have adopted an abandoned egg and are trying to hatch it, according to the BBC (so it must be true). That cheered me up...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.